Summer school on urban agricolture

Open to the general public, the Summer School on Urban Agriculture in Switzerland revolves around discussions, visits, and contextualized collective learning, encompassing both theoretical and practical aspects.

As a tool for resilience in the face of climate change, Swiss cities have recently witnessed the emergence of various multifunctional projects, such as rooftop gardens, community gardens, urban gardens, and urban farms. There are also sites requiring more substantial techniques and infrastructure (e.g., hydroponics, aquaponics, etc.). Integrated into the urban landscape, these farms and projects lie at the heart of the urban-rural relationship as they promote local production and consumption.

The challenge lies in ensuring their successful implementation, as the lack of guidance and expertise at the project’s outset hampers their development.

The inaugural edition of the Summer School on Urban Agriculture in Switzerland will welcome a diverse range of stakeholders, with the initial goal of facilitating the emergence of such projects.

 

1st Lausanne Edition of the Summer School

The Summer School on Urban Agriculture in Lausanne will center around a broadened definition of urban agriculture that aligns with the city’s actions and respects the historical and geographical realities of the Lausanne area. This first edition will also provide an opportunity to present and exchange ideas about the actions carried out by the city and various stakeholders.

Spread across multiple locations in Lausanne and its surroundings, the summer school will offer visits to farms and urban projects, practical workshops to support project leaders and provide guidance in the installation process, as well as insights into the social dimensions of the sites visited.

Seeking to leverage existing initiatives, the annual course “Feeding the City” will be exceptionally integrated into the first edition of the Summer School on Urban Agriculture in Switzerland. This course focuses on designing sustainable food systems in Swiss cities. Participants will be informed about innovative solutions for a sustainable urban food system, gain a detailed understanding of the Lausanne context, explore concrete examples of local initiatives, discuss urban food issues, and exchange experiences on the subject.

The event will bring together a multitude of actors, including citizens, practitioners, community representatives, associative actors, real estate developers, and start-ups.

The Summer School on Urban Agriculture in Lausanne is a platform for information, exchange, reflection, and collaborative construction !

Date:

5 July 2023
-⠀7 July 2023

Price:

224
CHF

Location:

Impact Hub Lausanne

Happening at the hub

Upcoming events

The Catalyst at the Hub
22 May 2024
Impact Hub Lausanne
Sustainable IT Day
28 May 2024
Impact Hub Lausanne
PME romandes | Traçabilité
28 May 2024
Impact Hub Lausanne
HR Barcamp Lausanne
31 May 2024
Impact Hub Lausanne

Ecole d’été sur l’agriculture urbaine

Ouverte au grand public, l’Ecole d’été sur l’agriculture urbaine en Suisse s’articule autour de débats, visites et d’apprentissages collectifs contextualisés, à la fois théoriques et pratiques.

Outil de résilience face au changement climatique, les villes suisses ont dernièrement vu naître divers projets à multiples fonctions, tels que des potagers sur les toits, des jardins communautaires ou potagers citadins et fermes urbaines, mais aussi des sites demandant des techniques et infrastructures plus conséquentes (p.ex : culture en hydroponie, aquaponie, etc.). Inscrits dans le territoire, ces fermes et projets sont au coeur de la relation ville-campagne, puisqu’ils promeuvent une production et une consommation locale.

Il s’agit alors d’en assurer leurs bonnes implémentations, car le manque d’accom­pagnement et d’expertise au démarrage de projets limite leur éclosion.

Cette première édition de l’école d’été sur l’agriculture urbaine en Suisse accueillera une diversité d’acteur-rice-s, avec pour objectif initial de faciliter l’émergence de ce type de projets.

 

1ère édition lausannoise de l’Ecole d’été

L’école d’été sur l’agriculture urbaine à Lausanne s’articulera autour d’une défini­tion élargie de l’agriculture urbaine, en adéquation avec les actions de la ville et dans le respect des réalités historiques et géographiques du territoire lausannois. Cette première édition sera aussi l’occasion de présenter et d’échanger sur les ac­tions menées par la ville et les différent-e-s acteur-rice-s.

Réparties sur plusieurs lieux de la ville de Lausanne et de sa périphérie, l’école d’été offrira des visites de fermes et de projets urbains, des ateliers pratiques pour soutenir les porteurs de projets et leur offrir des repères dans les parcours d’installa­tion, ainsi que des témoignages sur la dimension sociale des sites visités.

Souhaitant utiliser au mieux les initiatives en cours, le cours annuel « Nourrir la ville » sera exceptionnellement intégré à la première édition de l’Ecole d’été sur l’agriculture urbaine en Suisse. Ce cours se concentre sur la conception de systèmes alimentaires durables dans les villes suisses. Les participant-e-s sont informé-e-s des solutions innovantes pour un système alimentaire urbain durable, comprennent en détail le contexte de la ville de Lausanne, découvrent des exemples concrets d’initiatives locales, discutent des questions de l’alimentation en milieu urbain et échangent leurs expériences sur le sujet.

L’événement rassemblera alors une multitude d’acteur-rice-s, des citoyen-ne-s et des praticien-ne-s, des représentant-e-s de collectivités, des acteurs associatifs en pas­sant par des promoteurs immobiliers et des start-up.

L’Ecole d’été sur l’agriculture urbaine à Lausanne pour s’informer, échanger, réfléchir et construire ensemble !

Date: 

5 juillet 2023
-⠀7 juillet 2023

Prix: 

224
CHF

Òu: 

Impact Hub Lausanne

Happening at the hub

Autres événements à venir

Impact Hub’s Business Clinic
25 avril 2024
Impact Hub Geneva & online
Sexy Salad du jeudi
25 avril 2024
Impact Hub Lausanne
Circular Economy Demo Day 2024
29 avril 2024
Impact Hub Zurich
PME romandes : Relever le défi de la gestion de la matière
30 avril 2024
Impact Hub Lausanne